The annual switch-on and some cosy soup!

It has finally reached that day of the year where I have to give up adding extra layers of clothing to my husband and myself and give-in to switching the heating on! You may laugh, but when you consider that our very old electric storage heating is about as efficient as a chocolate teapot you will forgive me for grudging the hundreds of pounds it costs to be only marginally warmer (and still have to wear a jumper indoors) all winter. Normally I would have already put the heating on – October is usually cold so at the beginning of the month I take the plunge – but this year we are installing a brand new oil central heating system (which will be exponentially warmer and cheaper) and I had hoped to put-off the annual switch-on until then. Unfortunately that is still three weeks away and we are freezing so I have had to relent.

It is in this vein of welcoming the cold, wintry weather and the turning on of the central heating that I am sharing a new recipe with you today. I found a bag of frozen spinach at the back of my freezer and decided that it would make lovely soup. I made the recipe up as I went along, not too sure how it would actually turn out, but it was pretty yummy and so I decided to share it!

Ingredients

  • 650g frozen spinach
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 500ml chicken stock
  • 500ml milk
  • 300ml double cream
  • 50g butter
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp mixed herbs
  • 2 bay leaves
  • pinch saffron

Method

  1. Fry the onions in the butter in a large soup pan until they are soft and beginning to brown.
  2. Add the seasoning (salt, pepper, garlic powder, mixed herbs, bay leaves and saffron) and continue to fry for a couple of minutes.
  3. Add the spinach and fry until it had defrosted.
  4. Add the stock and the milk.
  5. Bring to the boil then simmer for around 15 minutes.
  6. Remove the bay leaves (this is the part I forgot to do and ended up with ‘stalky’ bits in the finished soup)
  7. Transfer the mixture to a liquidiser, add the cream and then blend till smooth.
  8. Return to the heat and then serve with a swirl of cream and croutons.

Since this recipe was a bit of an experiment I wasn’t sure what to expect but the taste was smooth, creamy and rich. I couldn’t convince Mr B (Vegetable-phobe extraordinaire) to eat a bowl but I devoured the lot – yum yum!!

Please feel free to try out my recipe or to share it with others. All I ask is that if you do share it, please make sure you link back to me.

4 thoughts on “The annual switch-on and some cosy soup!

  1. Yum, this looks delicious!! I’ll definitely have to give it a try since it is almost soup weather here. Oddly enough, we’re having a pretty warm fall, the warm weather won’t last though!

Leave a Reply

