New job and a pink party

Well, it’s been a very busy week! I’ve finished my first week back in a school as a nursery teacher and absolutely loved it! I had almost forgotten how much fun it is working with 3 and 4 year olds! As well as reading policies, getting familiar with routines and meeting over a hundred different children and adults I have also painted leaves, played with gloop, read stories in a den, jumped in leaf piles, dug for bugs, heard spooky stories, flown on a broom and built a spider’s web. Phew!!

This week was also the nursery staff’s turn to host ‘Fine Piece Friday’ (A ‘fine piece’ is a north East Scotland term for a cake or biscuit or any other bakery treat – the more unhealthy the better!) and it had been decided that we would have a pink theme in order to raise some money for breast cancer charities. Never one to say no to a chance to bake something yummy, I decided to make a tray-bake. Normally I might go for something a little more ambitious but I have had a lot of work to do since starting my new job and knew that I wouldn’t have a lot of time so a straight-forward no-bake option seemed perfect.

Peppermint creams are quite possibly my all-time favourite tray-bake so I opted to make a batch of them but to give them a pink makeover.

The recipe is a really simple one but I’ll share it anyway. I started off with the biscuit base. In a pan I melted the chocolate, butter and syrup together until the mixture was smooth and runny, then I added the crushed digestive biscuits. Once it was all mixed together I spread it out in a greased baking tray and put it in the fridge to set.

Next I made the peppermint topping. Normally I would use green food colouring – the traditional minty colour – however because the theme was pink I used – you guessed it – PINK! Adventurous! Haha!! I mixed together the butter and the icing sugar until they made a sort of tooth-paste consistency, added the pink food colouring and the peppermint essence and then spread it on the top of the hardened biscuit base.

I finished off the biscuits by marking out the rows to cut and then used mint Aero balls to decorate. (Yes, I know they are green in the middle, but no one could actually see that until they bit it).

The last thing to do was to pop it all back in the fridge to let it set. The next morning I took it out and cut up the biscuits before taking it to school. They went down an absolute storm and sold out completely!

Ingredients

For the base:

  • 200g butter
  • 250g milk chocolate
  • 3 tablespoons syrup
  • 400g crushed digestive biscuits

For the topping:

  • 150g butter
  • 300g icing sugar
  • a few drops of pink food colouring
  • a few drops of peppermint essence
  • Aero balls to decorate

I’m really looking forward to my second week in the nursery – who knows what delights will be in store for me! There won’t (sadly) be pink peppermint creams but I’m sure there will be all sorts of other exciting things going on. Roll on Monday morning!

One thought on “New job and a pink party

  1. Pingback: Cherry Almond Cupcakes | Crescent Number Nine

Leave a Reply

