My first festive post!

I thought I should share something Christmassy since it is now December and only 3 weeks until Christmas! My mum has always made mincemeat pies with a twist and they are delicious so I wanted to let you all in on the secret!

Mincemeat Pies - Cover

The ingredients are very simple (Well, they are simple if you are lazy like me and are just planning on buying your pastry and mincemeat ready-made from the shop!)

Mincemeat Pies - Ingredients

The secret ingredient, as you can see, it soft cheese. It may not sound like the most obvious choice of addition to the inside of a mincemeat pie but it actually works – in fact it is surprisingly delish!

When it comes to greasing the baking tray I also have a tip to share. (Maybe everyone else knows it already and I was just late in catching on! You can let me know!) Instead of trying to use some greasproof paper to spread butter over the tray I always melt a little butter in the microwave then just paint it onto the tray using a pastry brush – job done!

Mincemeat Pies - Greasing the trayI cut out the ready-rolled pastry and then put the circles into the baking tray. One teaspoon of mincemeat and half a teaspoon of soft cheese is just about perfect for the filling.

Mincemeat Pies - Prep CollageNext you need to pop on the lids. These are two cutter sizes smaller than the bottoms.

Mincemeat Pies - Lids OnI brushed the lids with milk then baked my mincemeat pies in the oven at 160 degrees for about 30 minutes. They came out lovely and golden.

Mincemeat Pies - Finished

Mr B absolutely loves these mincemeat pies despite initially being sceptical about how they would taste. I very rarely make any other kind these days. I hope you enjoy trying my recipe out!

Signature

4 thoughts on “My first festive post!

Leave a Reply

