Celebrations and a trip to A&E!

I can’t believe that Christmas is over already – where does the time go? Mr B and I had a very busy few days over the festive period and I’m now at the point where I don’t know what day of the week it is because I’m so much out of my normal routine!

Our festive celebrations started on Christmas Eve. Because we have both our families to visit between Christmas Day and Boxing Day, we like to spend Christmas Eve together, without anyone else, and we have our own special dinner. In the evening we always go out together to drive round all the Christmas light displays and then we come home and get into our brand new jammies and watch a Christmas movie with a glass of mulled wine and a mincemeat pie – it’s bliss! This year was no different and we had  a roast duck dinner followed by sticky toffee pudding in our brand new completed kitchen!! (I promise to share the sticky toffee  recipe in a minute) We were even able to sit round the table this year!

Table Collage

Christmas Eve was lovely – as was Christmas Day! This year we spent the day with my family (we alternate between Mr B’s and mine) and I have to say we were both spoiled rotten. I was lucky enough to be gifted a digital die cutting machine from Mr B and a stand mixer from my mum! To say I’m delighted would be an understatement!! Mr B received a much-wished-for wax jacket from his amazing wife (Me! Haha!) and a variety of manly gifts from his mother-in-law (jumpers, sockes, DVDs etc). A huge Christmas dinner was also served up and we all ate enough for a small army! It was a lovely relaxing day and included the traditional walk to the cemetery to wish my dad a happy Chritsmas and to leave some flowers for him.

Boxing day should have been a lovely day too – and the second half, spent with Mr B’s family, was. Unfortunately the day got off to rather a dramatic start! My sister had given Mr B and I a beautiful hamper full of home made food and drinks for Christmas. Included in this was a set of two mulled wine glasses (see Exhibit A, below).

Exhibit A

(Image borrowed from here)

I had just had my shower and got dressed when Mr B offered to make bacon rolls for breakfast. This sounded lovely and I offered to wash the dishes that had been left from the day before since he was going to cook. The mulled wine glasses were also sititing there waiting to be washed before they could be used. Being super-efficient I wanted to take the glasses out of the metal holders to wash them properly. The first one came out fine and cleaned no problem. The second one, however, shattered in my fist as I tried to twist it out. I really badly sliced through one of my fingers and because there was so much blood and we had no idea how serious the injury was, Mr B called an ambulance! The ambulance arrived and the paramedics (who were absolutely lovely and took great care of me) bandaged me up and ordered me to A&E. Since we were going that way anyway (Mr B’s family live not far from the hospital) they let me go in the car but otherwise they would have taken me in the ambulance! At A&E they did their best to clean out the wound and assess the damage but they decided it needed to be done in theatre so I had to go back yesterday and have a wee op under local anaesthetic to have the nerve repaired, to check for tendon damage (thankfully there was none!) and to have it all stitched. It has been a very eventful few days and I’m now all bandaged up and struggling away with my right hand pretty much out of use! I’m not allowed to drive either so I’m stuck at home until the stitches are out which could be next week or could be later! At least I have all my love Chritmas gifts to play with!

Now, back to our Christmas Ever Christmas Dinner. I wanted to share my sticky toffee pudding recipe with you. Its absolutely delicious and very easy to make.

Sticky Toffee Pudding - Cover

Sticky Toffee Pudding

Ingedients:

For cake mixture:

  • 8oz chopped dates
  • 1 1/4 cups boiling water
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp treacle
  • 1 tbsp syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda

For sauce:

  • ½ cup sugar
  • 7 tbsp. butter
  • 6 oz. double cream

Method:
1. Put the dates in a bowl and cover with the boiling water. Set these aside to allow them to soften and soak up the water.

2. Preheat oven to 375°F and place a roasting pan with about 1 inch of water into the oven.

3.Grease a baking tin or casserole dish then dust with flour.

4. Beat 3½ tbsp of the butter with the sugar until creamed.

5. Beat in eggs, one at a time, then add the treacle, syrup and vanilla extract. Mix until just combined.

6. Add the flour and gently beat

7.  In a food processor or using a hand blender, puree the dates.

8. Add the baking soda to the dates, stir then ass this mixture to the rest of the cake mix.

9. Pour into the greased pan or dish.

10. Place in the roasting pan with the water and bake about 35 minutes until top is just firm. Remove from oven and cool slightly.

Sticky Toffee Pudding Collage

11. Next we make the sauce. In a saucepan over medium heat, melt the sugar and butter until the mixture turns a deep amber color. Watch closely so it does not burn.

12. Slowly mix in the double cream. Be careful: It will bubble up at first.

13. Once all the cream is added, cook mixture until it is thick enough to coat a spoon.

12. Cut the cake into squares and serve with the sauce and vanilla ice cream or pouring cream.

Sticky Toffee Collage

This was my dad’s favourite dessert and it remains a firm favourite with the rest of my family. It doesn’t take long to make and tastes delicious! I hope you manage to try it out!

Self PortraitSignature

8 thoughts on “Celebrations and a trip to A&E!

    • Thanks – it was very scary at the time – now its just uncomfortable and annoying! Not being able to drive is a pain because we stay in a small village miles from anywhere else. But at least I still have my whole finger!

Leave a Reply

