Lots of time to read

Since my dramatic accident on Boxing Day I have been relaxing at home and reading lots. Normally I spend my holidays, like I imagine a lot of people do, dashing about catching up with friends and family, especially at this time of year, but since having had the nerves in my finger repaired and then the wound all stitched up last Thursday I haven’t been allowed to drive so I have been forced to stay at home. Its been an absolute treat!

Don’t get me wrong – I really enjoy spending time in the company of others and am a little bit sad that I haven’t been able to get out – but its been great being able to just spend time at home on my own without the pressure of getting here and there and feeling like I’ve not had 5 minutes to myself. All this free time has meant that I have been able to do lots of reading and I thought I might just share my thoughts on one of the books I have just finished.

You might remember that a few weeks ago I told you about my book club and about the book we were reading – Wolf Hall. Well – what a struggle. It took six weeks to finish (not everyone in the book club even bothered finishing it) and I felt like I really hadn’t learned much in the entire 650 pages! To say it was a disappointment would be an understatement. However, our second book has been a joy to read and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who hasn’t read it already.

Water for Elephants

I’m always a little bit sceptical about books that have been made into big budget films – I tend to never enjoy the films and this really puts me off the book. Daft, I know, but that’s just how I am. I don’t like to be pressured into reading a book or into thinking its amazing simply because everyone’s talking about it. However, Water For Elephants has been an absolute gem of a read.

The story follows the fortunes of a young Jacob Jankowski, told by Jacob himself as a 90 (or is that 93?) year old stuck in an old folk’s home. He reminisces about how the misfortune of losing his parents and quitting vet school lead him to accidentally join the circus, fall in love and ultimately escape with an elephant, eleven horses, a monkey and a beautiful wife. Perhaps it is because of the light relief offered by this book in comparison to Wolf Hall, but I really enjoyed the picture painted of a life in the circus and found that I couldn’t put the book down.

If you are looking for a story that is easy to read, has a happy ending and makes you smile then I would definitely recommend this one. I can’t wait for my next book club meeting so that we can talk about how much we have all enjoyed it!

Signature

10 thoughts on “Lots of time to read

    • I am borrowing the movie from a friend next week – I just hope its as good as the book. I hate being disappointed by a movie adaptation 😦
      When I got my new job back in October and left behind some really lovely work colleagues we vowed to keep in touch and our shared love of books is what has formed the basis of our get-togethers and we now have our own book club! Its worked out well for us – I’m reading different books that I probably wouldn’t have chosen for myself.

Leave a Reply

