Healthy Comfort Food

After two weeks of eating healthy eating I’m starting to miss all the yummy comfort food that I love. The weather has been freezing with snow and temperatures in the miuses all week – just the kind of week where I like to indulge in all things bad like chocolate, crisps and cakes. Gold star for me however because I have resisted the temptation (nearly) all week and have stuck to my plan to eat healthily.

(I say I nearly resisted temptation because on Saturday I visited a friend who I have not seen in over 6 months (bad me!) and she and her husband treated me to lunch out. Having just had a baby, my friend insisted that I eat all the same deliciously calorific foods that she did so that she didn’t feel like such a fat pig (her words, not mine!!) as she endeavoured to eat enough to keep up the nutritional value of her breast milk! So…being such a brilliant friend I instantly agreed to have a huge bowl of the most creamy and cheesy macaroni cheese you have ever tasted, a large portion of chips and some chocolate brownie with vanilla ice cream! Its so hard being a good friend!!!)

I’m one of these people who gets bored of eating the same food every week. I like variety and I like to try new things. Mr B on the other hand would happily eat the same things over and over, staying safe and avoiding having to try anything new that could, potentially, be horrible! This said, I’m in charge of cooking in our house so I pretty much get to decide what we will eat for the week. I love soup, however Lentil soup is not someting that I think I have ever made – I’m not sure there is a reason for this, I guess its just not one of my favourites. This week I decided to make some after finding a huge bag of red lentils at the back of the cupboard. I flicked through lots of recipes, but in the end I decided just to wing-it. The end results were actually great and Mr B and I both ate the lot!

Lentil Soup and Pretzels

I made some homemade pretzels to go along with the soup (I featured the recipe previously, here) and just reduced the amount of salt and butter I used to try and keep them as healthy as possible.

The soup recipe is very simple.

Ingredients:

  • 1 small turnip
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 parships
  • 4 medium potatoes
  • 1 onion
  • 1.5l chicken stock
  • 2 handfuls red lentils
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • salt/pepper
  • 200ml milk

Method:

  1. Chop the onion and fry in the olive oil over a medium heat until soft and golden.
  2. Chop all the other vegetables and add to the pan along with the chicken stock and the salt and pepper.
  3. Bring to the boil.
  4. Add the lentils and then reduce the heat and simmer for 20-30 minutes until the vegetables are all soft.
  5. Pur the soup into a blender and blend until smooth (Mr B HATES lumpy vegetables!)
  6. Return to the pan, add the milk and bring back to the boil.
  7. Serve with hot pretzels.

See? Easy peasy! Takes less than an hour and is just the perfect healthy comfort food! I hope you get a chance to try the recipe and enjoy it too!

Signature

Leave a Reply

