Handmade Mother’s Day Gifts

I’m a bad blogger. Last week I decided that I was too busy to write anything and so I didn’t post at all. Bad, bad, bad! In order to make amends I have made an extra special effort to be crafty and creative so that I can astound you with an amazing project! Ok, I’m boasting, but only because I am actually delighted with my achievements this week and am super excited to share them with you!

This week’s project was in preparation for Mother’s Day next Sunday. I really wanted to make something special for my mum and my mother-in-law and what better place to look for inspiration that Pinterest?!! After whittling down all the fantastic and tempting ideas I came across I settled for a simple sewing project:

Finished Totes 2

I can’t claim any credit for the design or the (amazing) step-by-step instructions. Those are courtesy of The Cottage Home via Pinterest. I did, however choose the fabric all by myself! I wanted something cute and mumsy and I knew I definitely wanted both bags to be different. I settled on some beautiful Riley Blake and Carina Gardner fabrics which I purchase on Ebay. The fabrics came to over £30 and if I planned to make more bags I would definitely try to find a more affordable way to buy fabric, but for the purposes of this project I didn’t really mind the expense.

Fabric CollageThe plum/mustard combo is for my own mum and the pink variety is for my mother-in-law. Mr B helped me choosethis one so its not all my own ideas!

I followed the tutorial to the letter and found it was really easy and really effective. It explains what sizes to cut out and how to do each step. I didn’t come across anything that confused me for long. The instructions for sewing the bottom corners and for sewing the exterior and the lining together took me a minute to get my head around but it was mainly because I was looking at the photos above the text but should have been looking at the ones below. I had never done any topstitiching before and was a bit nervous about keeping it neat, but I was surprised at how easy it was to do. The contrast stitching really finished off the bags giving them a professional yet handmade feel!

Finished Totes

I am really pleased with how the two totes have turned out and I can’t wait to give them to our mums on Sunday. Now we just have to figure out how to visit both on one day when they live 40 miles apart!

This project has also been my first Link Party. I think I have done everything right! I’m still a newbie when it comes to anything more complicated that uploading my images and writing my blurb. Over on Sweet Benanna and Sam, Lisa is having a ‘Sweet Treats’ and ‘Swanky Stuff’ Link party and I have joined in with the ‘Swanky Stuff’. I hope my bags fit the theme!

Sweet Benanna & Sam

I hope you all have a lovely Mothering Sunday and either spoil your own mum rotten or are a mum yourself so get spoiled by your kids!

Signature

11 thoughts on “Handmade Mother’s Day Gifts

  1. Thank you so much for coming to link up! These bags are gorgeous and I love the fabric you have used! Are you in the U.K? I went there for a student exchange in high school and I remember being upset because it was mother’s day and I was away from my mom, not realizing that mother’s day is celebrated two months earlier in England than in Canada. Anyways, I would like to feature your project tomorrow on sweet treats & swanky stuff, please come back and visit ~ and link up some more projects too! Thanks again!

    • Thank you so much for featuring my bags! It was my first link up so I hope I did everything right! I am in Scotland and hadn’t realised that there was more than one Mother’s Day until I made my post then read around for other Mothers Day ideas. I had fun making those bags and plan to make myself one soon!

  2. Pingback: Sweet Treats & Swanky Stuff Link Party #4 | Sweet Benanna&Sam

  3. Pingback: A Handmade Gift Hamper | Crescent Number Nine

  4. Pingback: Happy Mother’s Day! | Crescent Number Nine

Leave a Reply

