Something of a tradition…

Its been a couple of weeks since I last blogged because I have been on my Easter holidays! I make no apologies because the rest was well deserved. Being a teacher definitely has its benefits and two week’s holidays in April is certainly one of them. The term from Christmas to Easter has been long and hectic and so the break was a very welcome one. I used the first few days to write all 31 of my children’s report cards and the rest were blissfully free from work commitments. It has been fantastic! I mostly used the time to catch up with friends and to chill out and relax after the past few busy months. I had great plans to be crafty and make lots of little bits and pieces but these plans gave way to coffees, lunches and trips away as well as girlie gossips and cuddles from lots of cute babies (yes, I am the babyless one amongst a whole host of ‘babyfied’ friends!)

I do, however, have some new projects up my sleeve and I have been busy trying out lots of different recipes so I have one or two food-related adventures to share with you. Today I am going to share a very traditional (and yummy) Scottish recipe. It’s probably one of Mr B’s favourite dishes.

Cullen Skink

Cullen Skink is a dish local to the area I live in. Cullen is a small fishing village on the Moray Firth coast about 30 miles north of here. Skink is an old Scottish word which means soup or stew so Cullen Skink is basically type of thick fish soup. Yummy!

To make your own Cullen Skink you will need the following:

Cullen Skink Ingredients

(You will also need 50g of butter. I forgot to put it in the picture!)

The recipe is fairly simple, as you will see.

Cullen Skink Collage

1.  Melt the butter in a large pan or stock pot. Add the onions and fry gently over a medium heat.

2.  In a second, smaller pan, gently heat the milk. Before the milk boils, add the fish (it’s best to use something already skinned but if you have fish with the skin on its still fine, you can remove the skin after the fish is cooked) and poach for a few minutes until the fish is cooked and just beginning to flake.

3.  Take the fish out of the pan and put the milk aside – you will need it later. (Remove the fish skin if you need to) Break the fish into pieces and pull out any bones.

4.  Pour the milk into the softened onions. Add the potatoes. Make the stock cubes into 500ml of stock and add to the pan. Add salt and pepper to taste. Simmer for a few minutes until the potatoes soften (I cut my potatoes into small-ish pieces so that they cook quicker)

5.  When the potatoes are soft, use a masher to break them up. You want them slightly mashed but still lumpy. This will thicken the soup and give it texture.

6.  Add the fish and stir. Simmer for another two or three minutes.

7.  Your soup is finished. For a creamier, less-healthy version you can add a splash of double cream, otherwise you can serve it up with some wholemeal bread. Yum!!

Cullen Skink is absolutely delicious. If you have never tried it then I really recommend that you do. Its lovely and creamy with a smoky flavour from the fish. Enjoy!

Signature

2 thoughts on “Something of a tradition…

Leave a Reply

