A Scottish beach party and a cupcake surprise!

I’m back in the land of the blogging after a week off to go to Guide camp. I volunteer as a leader with the local unit and so wasn’t around last weekend because we were off on our holiday adventure! OK, so we only went 20 miles down the road and we didn’t stay in tents, we stayed in a big old house instead, but it was still an exciting trip away for all of the girls. The theme of the weekend was ‘beach party’ and the weather (unpredictable as it generally is here in Scotland) did us proud! It was sunny and warm all weekend! We had a whole host of activities on offer for the girls including grass skirt making, t-shirt painting, garland making and  beach-on-a-plate competition to name but a few! The girls laid on some brilliant beach-themed entertainment in the evening on Saturday and we sang and boogied to some beachy music. The highlight of the weekend was a trip to the local historic castle where we completed a quiz as we toured the absolutely stunning building. Everyone (including me) was exhausted by Sunday afternoon but it was definitely worth it.

After having given up my whole weekend to Guiding I have had to spend this week catching up on school work, house work, reading and everything else that seems to have fallen by the wayside. It’s been completely manic around here. Its nearly the end of the school term so that means that I have a million jobs to get through before the kids are off on their summer break – to say I am feeling a little bit stressed would be an understatement! That said, I have still had time to do a little bit of baking, much to the delight of my work colleagues!

White Chocolate and Caramel Cupcakes

I found a bag of Cadbury’s Mini Caramel Eggs in my cupboard (left over from Easter) and so decided to adapt a recipe pinned to my Cupcakes Pinterest board. You can find the pin here. The recipe for white chocolate cupcakes used Lindt truffles in the middle (and I DO love these so I will try making cupcakes with them one day!) but I swapped the truffles for mini eggs. Everything else stayed the same. I should again apologise for my icing technique in the sense that I don’t have one! As much as I would LOVE to be able to ice cupcakes like the ones on Pinterest, I obviously have not got the knack because this was the best I could do!

White Chocolate and Caramel Cupcakes Collage

The cupcakes are absolutely delicious and were just what I needed to top up my energy levels after a weekend away with 15 noisy and excited Guides. The mini egg in the middle was a lovely surprise when you but into the cupcake and when they were warm it was still a little bit gooey! Yum, yum, yum!

White Chocolate and Caramel Cupcakes Gooey Centre

Signature

Leave a Reply

