Birthday Cupcakes!

First of all I have to say, HAPPY HOLIDAYS! Here in Scotland the school summer holidays have begun and I am delighted to have 6 weeks to myself to relax, de-stress and get ready for the next busy year. To top it all off, the weather has been glorious and I have been enjoying the (rare) Scottish sunshine over the weekend – what a treat!

I have also been celebrating my own birthday by getting busy in the kitchen. I have definitely reached and age where no one bakes me a cake anymore (sob!) so I usually take it upon myself to make something yummy.

This year I was a little bit lazy and just used my most simple vanilla cupcake recipe but decided to experiment with a lemon frosting, practising my previously discussed poor icing skills. I have to say, however, that I was pretty pleased with the results.

I went with a yellow-theme to go with the lemon frosting and decorated each cupcake differently. I just raided my baking cupboard to see what I could find lurking in there. I took the cupcakes to work and shared them with my brilliant nursery team – they seemed to be well received so I can only assume that everyone liked them!

Vanilla Cupcakes Collage

If you have a spare hour and want to try and make your own, here’s what to do:

Vanilla Cupcakes with Lemon Frosting

Cake Ingredients:

  • 225g butter
  • 225g sugar
  • 225g flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs

Frosting Ingredients:

  • 125g butter
  • 125g cream cheese
  • 1-2tsp lemon juice (depending on how lemony you want it)
  • approx. 250-300g icing sugar (depends on the consistency you want for icing)

Method:

  1. Cream the butter and sugar
  2. Add the eggs and vanilla extract then beat.
  3. Add the flour and mix.
  4. Share out the mix into individual cupcake cases (approx. 12)
  5. Bake in a pre-heated oven (160 ◦C) for 8-12 minutes.
  6. Allow the cakes to cool on a wire rack.
  1. Beat the butter and cream cheese together
  2. Add the lemon juice and some of the icing sugar, mixing it all together.
  3. Keep adding icing sugar until you reach the desired consistency (I’m still learning what right consistency is!)
  4. Use a piping bag and a nozzle of your own choice to ice the cakes.
  5. Decorate as desired.
  6. Voila!

If you try my recipe let me know. Maybe you could share some photos of your cakes?

Signature

One thought on “Birthday Cupcakes!

  1. Pingback: Cherry Almond Cupcakes | Crescent Number Nine

Leave a Reply

