Handmade Wedding Hamper

I’m a little bit late with my post this week because Mr B and I have been visiting the South to celebrate the marriage of a teacher-friend of mine. I lived and taught in the South West of Scotland for a couple of years and made some very good friends whilst I was there, this lady being one of them. I was absolutely delighted when she announced she was engaged and even more excited to find out that we were invited to share her special day. It is for that reason that I wanted to put together something special for her and her husband as a wedding gift. They didn’t have a wedding list (something I am pleased about because although I understand the sentiment behind it – we don’t want lots of odd, unnecessary and un-matching wedding presents – it always just feels so impersonal when you pick something off a list and then the shop delivers it straight to the couple’s home without you ever having seen it) so I was able to just use my own creativity to put together a little wedding hamper in a similar style to the one I made for my mum’s birthday (which you can see here).

Wedding Hamper

The next challenge was to make the tea towels look pretty. In general tea towels are a bit plain and boring but I thought that I might be able to do something a bit like napkin folding and then could use them to hold the forks. Here’s what I did:

Teatowel Folding Collage

I was delighted with the way the tea towels turned out. I popped a strip of card inside to make the whole cone-shape stiff enough to hold itself up (although these were pretty thick tea towels so they did OK on their own) and then I laid them in the basket.

Wedding Hamper 2

I laid the tray in the basket next and added the cups and the forks (which I tied together with ribbon). The final item was the jam and sugar spoon set which I was able to leave in it’s box and set in the middle of the basket. I was really pleased with how the basket turned out – it looked special and as if I had put a great deal of thought into the gift. I know if it was me I would be over the moon to receive such a pretty and heartfelt gift. I just hope my friend thought so too!

The wedding was fabulous. My friend look absolutely amazing and the weather was beautiful. Even Mr B shed a discreet tear at the ceremony. It brought back a lot of memories for us because our own wedding anniversary is coming up next week – a whole year married! Where does the time go? I’m busy working on a little project for Mr B’s anniversary gift – maybe I’ll be able to share it with you next week 😉

Signature

4 thoughts on “Handmade Wedding Hamper

  1. Pingback: Another handmade wedding gift! | Crescent Number Nine

Leave a Reply

