An anniversary project…

This weekend Mr B and I are celebrating our first wedding anniversary. It’s been a whole year since we walked down the aisle and said ‘I do’. Where on earth does the time go? It feels like it all happened just yesterday! My wedding day was a whirlwind of smiles, hugs and dancing and was most definitely one of the best days of my life. Clichéd, I know, but I don’t care! Mr B and I have spent the weekend celebrating. We exchanged gifts and Mr B took me out for a lovely dinner with prosecco waiting for us on arrival and a huge bouquet of flowers handed to me by the restaurant staff in full view of all the other diners. Mr B is definitely a romantic at heart!

Anyway, today I wanted to share one of my anniversary makes with you. I am a firm believer in handmade and thoughtful gifts (you may be becoming aware of this if you have followed my blog for a while!) and my anniversary was to be no different. I knew that I wanted to make some special gifts for my husband so I started with the card. The modern first wedding anniversary is ‘paper’ and so this formed the basis of my idea.

Anniversary Card 1

I spent AGES cooing over anniversary card ideas on Pinterest (You can find them here) and decided to take my favourite bits from different cards and combine them into something of my own design. This is what I came up with!

Anniversary Card Collage

I used my Slice die-cutting machine (kindly given to me at Christmas by Mr B!) to cut out the letters to write PAPER and also to cut out the two hear shapes. I then followed this tutorial to tie a neat bow and attached it and a strip of ribbon on top of a piece of card in the same grey colour as the letters. I added the word ANNIVERSARY by hand along with the ‘1’ and the stitches on the hearts. Voila!

Mr B loved his card  – I hope this becomes a tradition, making a card for him every year. I really like to give things a personal touch and I think I am extremely lucky to have a husband who appreciates it.

Anniversary Photo

Signature

2 thoughts on “An anniversary project…

Leave a Reply

