Another handmade wedding gift!

Mr B and I have had an absolutely amazing weekend celebrating the marriage of one of his closest friends. We were honoured to be a part of their special day, Mr B particularly as he assumed the role of groomsman, and we are delighted to finally see our friends become husband and wife. The day passed in a blur of back and white (those were the colours of the theme, chosen by the bride) and we met some new people as well as spending time with old friends. The new Mrs Tough looked absolutely radiant and her husband and son both looked dashing in traditional Scottish kilts.

The Tough Family

Congratulations Mr and Mrs Tough!

As you will know if you have been following my blog for any length of time, I love making handmade gifts and a wedding is no exception. This said, I had to think quite creatively for our friends because they simply asked for money towards things for their home. They have lived together for a while and have a son together. They didn’t want crockery or linen and they didn’t need picture frames or vases. What they really wanted was a new washing machine and some other similarly practical items. The imaginative side of me went into overdrive and I trawled through Pinterest for ideas. I had already made a personalised print for the happy couple (you can find my post about it here), but I knew I wanted to do something creative with the money we were giving them. That’s when I discovered ‘money origami’!

Money Oragami

I used £5 notes so that I had the largest number of notes possible and found tutorials to make plain hearts, fancy hearts, a groom’s shirt and a bride’s dress. I won’t do a step-by-step guide here because the links to the tutorials are better than what I would be able to do so if you fancy trying it out for yourself then click on the links above. I was delighted with how the origami turned out and it really did make a plain gift of money look much more interesting and as though some thought and effort had been put into it.

Oragami Shirt

Oragami Dress

This wasn’t the end of the matter however. I still needed to figure out how to present the gift. I have done other gift hampers before (here and here) and love how they look so I bought some little bits and pieces to put together. I chose a cream coloured lantern with heart details to put the money inside and picked some other items to match, placing it all in a wicker basket.

Wedding Hamper Gift Collage

After a little bit of moving things around to figure out how they would sit, I managed to fit everything in. The basket looked really beautiful and the money was cute inside the lantern. I also like how the money is not the first thing that you notice and that there are other things that draw your eye. I used a couple of cream coloured flannels in the bottom of the basket, some large wicker heart hanging decorations, a small hanging cushion with a heart, some heart shaped candles, the lantern and two little pomander bags. In the middle I have popped a lucky sixpence (which I made myself and will show you in more detail in a future post) for good luck. Gift hampers are really simple to do but look amazing, making even the most mundane of gifts look spectacular. In the picture above you can see the hamper alongside the personalised print I made and below you can see the hamper on its own in more detail:

Wedding Hamper Gift

I couldn’t be more pleased for Mr and Mrs Tough and wish them love and happiness as they embark on their life together as husband and wife!

This has been a really busy weekend, especially since its the last one of my summer holidays! Tomorrow I head back to school after the 6-week summer break. Where on earth does the time go???

Signature

4 thoughts on “Another handmade wedding gift!

  1. Pingback: Another wedding! | Crescent Number Nine

  2. Pingback: Love is in the air! | Crescent Number Nine

Leave a Reply

