Easy Cheesy!

What a busy week! My Post Grad certificate programme started this week so I have been busy watching lectures and reading books and journals. I can see already that this is going to require a lot of my spare time – goodbye life! I have also been busy training this week and have been out of school for 3 days on a course with one of my colleagues. We have been learning about managing challenging behaviour using de-escalation and physical holding. I have been trained in a number of other programmes in the past so it was a good refreshed. The crisis management and de-escalation techniques are really important and the three days led to some really interesting discussions with staff from other nurseries and schools. A big mention to my colleagues who battled away in nursery one member of staff down due to a lack of cover being available!

Now, for the main feature…

Macaroni cheese is one of my all-time favourite dinners. It’s cheesy and creamy and absolutely delicious. It’s never going to win any diet-prizes and it’s certainly not a dish that helps shrink my waistline, but it is definitely oh so yummy!

I have not always been a fan however – in fact, as a child, I used to dread my mum serving up a bowl of pasta with her mildly cheesy and decidedly gritty sauce. She won’t mind me saying that it’s safe to say my mum didn’t have a great recipe and for years I avoided eating or ordering macaroni cheese. Then one day I had dinner in an AMAZING restaurant in Dumfries. My friend said “You HAVE to try the macaroni cheese – it’s the best you will ever taste.” I wasn’t keen, but my friend insisted so I relented and ordered it. I was amazed – the taste was so creamy, cheesy and smooth and I couldn’t believe I had been avoiding this for most of my life. Since then I have made it my mission to taste and make as many different macaroni cheeses (can you say cheeses? I don’t know!) as I can. In my post today I will share one of my favourites with you;

Macaroni Cheese

There aren’t too many ingredients and you can experiment with different kinds of cheese to get the flavour you want. (Edam and gruyere are also great options!). Here’s what I use in my favourite version:

Macaroni Cheese - Ingredients

You might find that you need to adapt the amount of milk you use depending on how runny you like your sauce, but on the whole the quantities here work well.

The photos below show most of the steps in the recipe:

Macaroni Cheese Collage

  1. Put the pasta on to boil – dried pasta is absolutely fine but should be completely cooked before being added to the sauce.
  2. Make a blonde roux by melting the butter, adding the flour then gradually adding the milk and the cream. At this point you should also add some salt and pepper to season.
  3. Add each of the cheeses and stir or whisk until each has melted and has become combined with the sauce, The thicker and stringier the better!
  4. Drain the pasta and then add the cheese sauce, stirring everything together.
  5. Place in an oven-proof dish, sprinkle with your favourite cheese and pop in the oven for ten minutes.

Macaroni Cheese 2

Easy Cheesy, eh? Enjoy!

Signature

Leave a Reply

