Admit one…

A little while ago one of my friends celebrated her birthday and I decided that the occasion called for another handmade card. Here is what I came up with:

Ticket Birthday Card

I had seen several card designs that used old fashioned tickets as a basis and I really liked them so I decided to have a go. My Slice Die Cutter (which I am having horrendous problems with because it has turned out to be so temperamental. I really wish I had done more research before I asked Mr B to buy it last Christmas!!) has a lovely ticket shape on the ‘Basics’ card. I chose a patterned stock paper in a salmon-pink colour and then chose the plain card colours to go with it. The lilac, pink and coral seem to go nice together. The flowers were a later addition because I felt that the card was a bit plain, but I like how they turned out.

The text on the ticket is handwritten, although I have just purchased my first set of stamping materials, having never tried it before, so in future I may use stamping to try and get a neater, more consistent, more professional looking finish. Sometimes handwriting gives you more freedom to do what you want and manipulate the design, but my calligraphy skills are (very) limited and so stamping may be a better way forward.

Ticket Birthday Card 2

I think the card was well received – I did receive a lovely text thanking me for it so I assumed my friend was pleased! I love making and designing my own cards but I’m still a bit of a novice so I’d love to hear what you think or if you have any suggestions for improvements!

Signature #2

Leave a Reply

