Cosy soup for a chilly day…

Well, I think its safe to say that winter is definitely here! Its freezing cold outside, there’s been hailstones this morning and I am in snuggled up in my fluffy dressing gown, slippers and PJ’s – I’m having a duvet day and absolutely loving it!

I haven’t made myself a pot of soup in a while (mainly because between school and studying I haven’t had  the time or the energy!) but I have a little recipe tucked up my sleeve from a few weeks ago and thought that all you lovely people might like something warming today.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Soup

The basic recipe comes from my ‘ yummy dinners ‘ Pinterest board, and from here. I tweaked things just a little bit to suit my own tastes and you can do the same.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Soup Collage

Ingredients:
  • broccoli – I used a large head
  • cauliflower – about the same amount as the broccoli
  • 1 onion
  • olive oil
  • 150ml cream
  • 150ml  milk
  • 50g cream cheese
  • 1l chicken stock
  • Sour cream (if you like it) to serve
  • salt and pepper
  • parsley to garnish
Method:
  1. Heat olive oil and gently fry the chopped onion.
  2. Add the chicken stock and bring to the boil.
  3. Add the vegetables
  4. Bring back to the boil and simmer until the vegetables are soft and crumbly.
  5. I used my hand blender to liquidise the soup. You could use a large blender if you prefer.
  6. Add the milk, cream and cream cheese then bring back to the boil, making sure the cheese melts and is stirred in evenly.
  7. Taste the soup and season with salt and pepper accordingly.
  8. Serve your soup with a sprinkling of parsley and a dollop of sour cream.

If you are looking for something easy and just a little bit different then this might be a good recipe to try. It took less than half an hour to make and tasted delicious!

Signature #2

4 thoughts on “Cosy soup for a chilly day…

Leave a Reply

