Cherry Almond Cupcakes

Every year the staff in my nursery raise money for Breast Cancer Research by holding a pink-themed  ‘Fine Piece Friday’ (In North East Scotland a ‘fine piece’ is a yummy cake or biscuit) and this year was no different. Last year I had only been working there for a week and had to try and make time to bake as well as learn what on earth I was meant to be doing! (You can see my attempt at pink peppermint creams here: A New Job and a Pink Party). This year I probably didn’t have any more time but I thought I would make something I had never tried before.

Cherry Almond Cupcakes

I have come across a variety of different marshmallow frosting recipes on Pinterest and really wanted to try them out so I thought that this might be the perfect opportunity. I used my favourite cupcake recipe (you can find it in my Birthday Cupcakes post) and substituted 75g of the flour for ground almonds and added some dried cherries. The result was yummy! The frosting was so light and fluffy. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Method:

  • Whist the egg whites and sugar together in a glass bowl over a pan of boiling water. As the mixture heats and the sugar dissolves keep whisking.
  • When the sugar is fully dissolved and the mixture is hot transfer it into a large bowl and whisk until it is stiff and fluffy. (I used my stand mixer for the whisking to save my arms!)
  • Add food colouring of you want a different colour and continue to mix.
  • Use a piping bag to ice the cupcakes!

Signature #2

Leave a Reply

