Rhubarb and Custard

Firstly I have to apologise for not blogging at all last week. I came down with tonsillitis and spent the weekend recovering. I’m feeling much better now but I had a horrible couple of days where I wasn’t sleeping and was really sore so I couldn’t face anything creative at all. I snuggled up on the sofa with copious amounts of tea and throat spray! My life is just so glamorous! Haha!

Anyway, now that I am back to normal and feeling fit and well I thought that a blog post was well overdue. This recipe is absolutely AMAZING, even if I do say so myself! I am a HUGE rhubarb fan but normally just end up making the traditional rhubarb crumble when I get my hands on some. I was looking for something a bit different to try and so I tried out the awesome recipe and fell in love!!

Rhubarb and Custard

They perhaps don’t look like anything special, but as soon as you pop a piece inside your mouth the flavours just hit you and you can’t stop eating! These were a big hit with Mr B too and he has made several requests for me to make them again. If you want to try them for yourself, here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

BASE:

  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup soft butter

FILLING:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 7 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 5 cups finely chopped rhubarb

FROSTING:

  • 200g cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream, whipped

Method:

  1. In a bowl mix the flour and sugar together.
  2. Rub in the butter until the mixture looks a bit like breadcrumbs.
  3. Press into a greased baking tray.
  4. Bake at 350° for 10 minutes.
  5. Meanwhile, for filling, combine sugar and flour in a bowl. Whisk in cream and eggs. Stir in the rhubarb. Pour over crust. Bake at 180°C for 40-45 minutes or until custard is set.
  6. Remove from the oven and cool in the tray.
  7. For the topping, beat the cream cheese, sugar and vanilla together until the mixtures is smooth
  8. Fold in whipped cream.
  9. Spread the mixture over the top.
  10. Cover and chill for at least two hours.
  11. Cut into bars and remove from the tray.

Rhubarb and Custard Bars

Hope you manage to give this a try!

Enjoy!

Signature #2

One thought on “Rhubarb and Custard

Leave a Reply

