We’re all going on a summer holiday…

Did you miss me? It’s been so long since I last blogged I bet you were beginning to forget who I am! I had to take a break whilst I was writing my final essay for my Postgrad Certificate and then I just seemed to get caught up in holidays and trips away so there never seemed to be a moment to blog (or do anything lese for that matter!) So here I am – back to a more normal routine after a fantastic two weeks of summer holidays.

Where on earth do I start? Well first off I had a lovely couple of days away with my mum. We went to Stirling and enjoyed a relaxing break away for our birthdays. We ate lots and did some touristy things including Stirling Castle, The Falkirk Wheel and The Kelpies. It was a bit of a whirlwind when I got back and I had to unpack and then immediately repack for a trip away with Mr B to Yorkshire to celebrate the marriage of his school friend David to his very lovely fiancé, Sarah. The weather was lovely, the location was stunning and the company was fantastic. The bride looked amazing and Mr B performed his Ushering duties with all due seriousness and efficiency (well, after he worked out exactly what ushering duties were!).

Wedding Collage

Mr B and I stayed on in Yorkshire for a week (whilst the newlyweds jetted off to Hawaii! We definitely got the better deal…haha!) and had a lovely holiday in Mr B’s most favourite part of the world. Despite an unfortunate tummy bug which had me bedridden for a day, we did lots of exploring and visited all sorts of exciting places. We went to Scarborough Fair, Mother Shipton’s Cave, we went on a pleasure boat, we visited the York Castle Museum and the Rydale Folk Museum and we wandered around Whitby, Knaresborough, Harrogate, York and Scarborough.

We’ve been home since Sunday and I’m now caught up with all the washing, cleaning and tidying that are inevitable after a holiday and I’m ready to get back to blogging!

Something simple to share with you today…falafel burgers! Those of you who know my lovely Mr B will know that this doesn’t sound like something he would eat but after a number of vegetable related revelations during the holidays, Mr B is now willing to expand his culinary tastes and has in fact decided that falafel burgers are yummy!

We first encountered these at a friend’s a few months ago. Mr B wasn’t sure but he said he would try them again if I made them…so here they are, and hallelujah! Mr B liked them!!!

Falafel Burgers

Now, for a first attempt they are not bad, however they crumbled and fell apart so I definitely need to work on the consistency of the mixture. The flavour was also a bit bland so I will need to experiment with different seasonings, but with a slice of cheese and some tasty salsa added, these were actually not too bad.

Ingredients:

  • 400g can chickpeas
  • garlic clove
  • handful of flat-leaf parsley or curly parsley
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1⁄2 tsp harissa paste or chilli powder
  • 2 tbsp plain flour
  • 2 tbsp sunflower oil
  • toasted pitta bread
  • 200g tub tomato salsa, to serve
  • green salad, to serve
  • 1 small red onion, roughly chopped
  • cheese slices

Method:

  1. Drain the chickpeas and dry them.
  2. Put the chickpeas into a food processor and add the onion, garlic, parsley, spices, flour and a little salt.
  3. Blend until fairly smooth, then shape into four patties with your hands.
  4. Heat the oil in a non-stick frying pan, add the burgers, then quickly fry for 3 mins on each side until lightly golden.
  5. Serve in buns or in a pitta bread with salad, cheese and salsa

 

Signature #2

Leave a Reply

